Skip to content

Kids books: New ground

March 23, 2015
Chloe Kim is an amazing young lady. She's a trailblazer.

Chloe Kim is an amazing young lady. She’s a trailblazer.

When I write kid’s books, the characters may be trying something new. They might be discovering new talents, or polishing the ones they have. Sometimes it’s important to plunge ahead and take a risk. Consider Chloe Kim. If you don’t know who she is, I imagine you’ll know soon. She has broken a record. Which one was it?  She’s the youngest winner of the X-Games competition! Chloe is only fourteen and she became the gold medal winner of the Super Piper Event this year. This amazing prize didn’t come easily. She competed with a bandage on her face, which was the result of a nasty crash during a practice session before the competition. She showed a great deal of courage and determination, don’t you think? No matter what you do in your life there are always disappointments. But these can serve to motivate you to succeed. Last year, Chloe was too young to compete in the Olympics last year at Sochi.  But I imagine she knew her time would come if she persevered. What if she didn’t compete because she fell before the competition started? She would have missed her opportunity to win a gold medal. Wouldn’t that have been a shame?

Chloe began snowboarding at just four years old. Here are some comments from one of her coaches:

“I’d say the nerves were there, but she thrives in that situation,” said one of her coaches, Benjamin Wisner. “I think every athlete gets nervous. But Chloe has a great attitude and a pretty strong mental game. She’s a great competitor. She can relax even in nervous situations. I’m sure there was some nerves, but she just loves to snowboard and she loves riding in front of a crowd.”

It would seem that Chloe surprised even herself. Here’s what she said after her gold-medal performance:

“I am just so amazed that I was able to land all that. It was so fun.”

I remember how frightened I was before publishing  the  first of my kid’s books, Tails of Sweetbrier. Mostly, I was scared of  failing.  I wondered what would happen if no one published it. Then I decided if I wanted to be an author of kid’s books, I had to try. If no company wanted to publish it, I’d have to improve it. Is that such a terrible thing? I figured I could survive rewriting it if necessary. So what happened next? It was published, and now it’s an award-winning kid’s book. I’d have missed a lot if I hadn’t tried, don’t you think? I hope you always follow your dreams. You can do amazing things if you never give up. That’s the message in Tails of Sweetbrier.  It may even become one of your favorite kid’s books.

Copyright 2015 Deanie Humphrys-Dunne

picture from internet

Reblogged from http://www.childrensbookswithlifelessons.com

Pi

at: http://childrensbookswithlifelessons.com/2015/03/22/kids-books-new-ground/#sthash.9MvtiTn7.dpuf

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

