Skip to content

Kid’s chapter books: changing lives

December 17, 2015

Do you love writing kid’s chapter books that might change your reader’s lives? Wouldn’t that be exciting? I love writing kid’s chapter books with positive messages. It would be amazing if any of them actually changed someone’s life! Sometimes a decision can change your life, like my Dad’s choice to teach me to ride horses so I could realize my dream of becoming an equestrian champion. I wrote my first book, Tails of Sweetbrier, about that journey. In the latest of my fictional kid’s chapter books, Charlene the Star and Bentley Bulldog, Charlene’s animal friends chose to help Bentley bulldog change his naughty behavior.

Have you heard about Jeff Louis’s story? He’s a 22 year-old  young man who delivers pizza. One day recently he delivered several pizzas to Life Point Church.  One of the parishioners came out to Jeff’s car to ask him to “carry one of the eight pizzas they had ordered inside and  walk on stage.” To be clear, Jeff was “a little weirded out.” It was a rather strange request, wasn’t it?

What happened next? Pastor Wright, walked up to Jeff and presented him with a huge tip. All of the parishioners walked up and added their tips. There was an unbelievable total of over $700!  Jeff was overcome with emotion. Here’s what he said:

“I’ve been having such a hard time lately, just struggling to stay clean, I’m just trying to get my life back and [the gesture] just really truly amazes me — that people who don’t even know me just wanted to help me out that much. “A video was made where Jeff ended his message with one word: “blessed.” This is a wonderful heartwarming message for the Holidays, don’t you think?

I hope whatever you choose to do, you make a positive change in the lives of others. I’m sure Jeff will remember the kindness of those people for the rest of his life and I hope he will keep working to make the right choices in his life. In the meantime, I’ll continue to write entertaining kid’s chapter books to encourage good character in children.

To listen to Jeff’s video, please click this link:

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/bristolpalin/2015/12/pizza-delivery-mans-emotional-response-to-churchs-tip-had-hard-time-staying-clean/?utm_source=SilverpopMailing&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Family%2012%2016%2015%20(1)&utm_content=&spMailingID=50281978&spUserID=MTA1NTI3NzAzMjg2S0&spJobID=822732251&spReportId=ODIyNzMyMjUxS0

Copyright Deanie Humphrys-Dunne 2015

website: http://www.childrensbookswithlifelessons.com

book trailer: youtube.com/watch?v=Rba4hkmmTyc&feature=youtu.be

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

