Skip to content

Children with Cerebral Palsy: What would you do?

March 24, 2016

Rhonda's banner

 

As some of you may know, I was born with cerebral palsy. It only affects my legs, so I’m blessed in that regard. One of the most amazing benefits I had was my parents’ philosophy. They constantly reassured me that I could do anything. Admittedly, certain things would take longer, but they never focused on my limitations. This gave me a healthy outlook and the confidence to strive to reach my goals, no matter how lofty. In our family, giving up was never an option. We were taught perseverance is the key to success.
This morning I read an article by the parent of a child with cerebral palsy. The author mentioned how “Frustrating” it was for her raising a child with physical limitations. I can certainly relate to that opinion. But if I were in a similar position, I’d choose to encourage my child to set goals and work toward them. I’d advise Β he/she to search for their passion and pursue it. In my experience, it’s amazing what you can accomplish if you try. As I mentioned in a recent TV interview, “You are the captain of your ship. No one knows what you can do. You can change a lot of things.”
It’s safe to say I never expected to become an award-winning children’s book author. It’s a huge honor for me and further proof that anything is possible.
The closing sentence of my award-winning story, Tails of Sweetbrier, is:
“You have the power to make your dreams come true so reach for them and don’t accept anything less!” I hope you will remember this advice and it will guide you to victories.

Website: http://www.childrensbookswithlifelessons.com

Videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT5zBYieZbo&feature=youtu.be

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rba4hkmmTyc&feature=youtu.be

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXqRLbm_Cf0

https://payhip.com/deaniehd-click to access free samples of my books

copyright 2016: Deanie Humphrys-Dunne

 

 

From → Uncategorized

30 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Regardless of what ‘disability’ you are labelled with, dare to dream, strive to achieve them and never, ever, give up.
    These words could easily apply to anyone who is labelled as ‘able-bodied’ or ‘normal’ as well.

  2. Excellent advice, Chris. I have always thought people with bad attitudes were much more handicapped than those who are positive and believe in working toward their goals. πŸ™‚

  3. We all have our weaknesses, great or small. I love your parent’s encouragement. Too many we tend to think ours or ourselves as less because we don’t compare to the rest of the world. ❀ ❀ ❀
    Bravo on your publications.

    • I think it’s so important to concentrate on what each of us can do. Nobody’s perfect anyway, as you mentioned. Most of the time, we surprise ourselves with what we can do. We only need to put some effort into it and follow our dreams. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your kind comments.

      • You are more than welcome. We humans tend to complicate the simplest things. We are all unique in one way or another. Period. πŸ˜€

  4. Thanks for stopping by everyone. πŸ™‚

  5. You are an inspiration to us all, Deanie! Wonderful advice. Blessings & hugs, dear friend! ❀️

  6. Thank you, Janice, You’re so sweet and special. Blessings and hugs for you as well. You deserve them. I”ll bet you’re everyone’s favorite person. πŸ™‚

  7. Reblogged this on jemsbooks and commented:
    Deanie H. Dunne has some inspiring advice. She is a true inspiration to us all! Thank you, Deanie! ❀️

  8. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    An excellent post by Deanie Humphrys Dunne.. one that should be read by all parents.

  9. I believe that every one of us has a disability. If you’re a story teller, no one has to know that you can’t pass Algebra. πŸ™‚

    For 23 years, I’ve been in the field of developmental disabilities, which includes CP. For every person with CP, there’s a different story, different abilities, but dreams are a constant among all humans. Love, kindness and caring…these attributes know no disability,

    • That is so true, floridaborne. None of us is the picture of perfection. If my parents hadn’t encouraged me to reach for my dreams, I would have missed many remarkable adventures. My big dream was to become a champion equestrian, against the odds. My Dad and I set out to disprove the doubters and we had a great time in the process.
      Thank you for stopping by to comment. Best wishes for success in all of your endeavors.

  10. Having lost the majority of my vision at 18-months-old as a result of a blood clot on the brain, I can relate to what you say. My visual impairment has not prevented me from attending university or becoming a poet. Often society regards disability as a tragedy. It is not. Kevin

    • I applaud your courage and determination, Kevin. Coping with adversity makes us stronger and more creative as to how we can get things accomplished.I completely agree that handicaps should not be viewed as tragedies. Incredible things can be done, against the odds. Such events are victories for everyone.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  11. I am also a children’s author with a disability, and it makes me sad that many people consider having a disabled child to be extra work, and a burden. For one thing, having any child is extra work that requires some adjustments to how you do things in your life; a disabled child just requires a modification in the adjustments you’ll be required to make. For another thing, being told they will never amount to anything and are a burden creates low self-esteem, and the world can be a cruel enough place as it is, without the home that should be a sanctuary being another place of ridicule.

    • Victoria, I think every child is a blessing. A handicapped child shouldn’t be viewed as a burden. Parents should assure that child is encouraged to reach his/her full potential. Each child should have dreams and work toward fulfilling them. Then they will have healthy self-esteem.
      Best wishes in all of your endeavors.

  12. I love your conclusion to Tails of Sweetbrier. What a fabulous thought to leave your readers with. I love your positive attitude, and admire your parents for nurturing it in you.

    • Thank you Norah. Without my parents’ guidance, I would not have realized my dreams, lofty as they were. We welcomed the challenges and looked forward to the day when our goals would be met. So pleased you liked my conclusion of Tails of Sweetbrier. May it encourage many children to reach for their dreams.
      Happy Easter!

      • Thanks Deanie. I hope so too.
        I hope you enjoyed the Easter break.

  13. Thank you for your inspiration, Deanie. πŸ™‚

    • I’m thrilled to inspire people, Carol. It’s the reason I became a children’s author. πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy the weekend and thanks for commenting.

  14. Wonderful to read this. One of my good friends is a young man (30 now), a quadriplegic with cerebral palsy. I tutored him for 3 years when he was in high school. He can’t walk or read (his eyes rove) or do anything for himself, yet is funny, smart, and has the most amazing ‘can do’ attitude. He teaches us all what it really means to be human.

    • So glad you enjoyed it. There are many who are int he same situation as the young man you tutored. Their talents can still be recognized an applauded, as they should be. They are amazing.

  15. Thank you for visiting and commenting, everyone. I love reading your thoughts. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Children with Cerebral Palsy: What would you do? | Annette Rochelle Aben
  2. Smorgasbord Easter Egg Hunt – Bloggers who are ‘Jolly good eggs’ | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life
  3. Mention in Dispatches – Zombies, Goblins and Humming Birds. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

Leave a Reply

