Skip to content

children’s books: superheroes

April 12, 2016

Have you ever written children’s books with superheroes? There are many  children’s books starring superheroes. But what about a real-life superhero? I’d like to introduce you to thirteen year-old Grace Bunke. She suffered from an aggressive form of bone cancer. This terrible disease didn’t only settle there. It spread to her lungs. Grace also underwent an unusual type of surgery on her leg. It’s called a “rotationplasty.” That means her leg was amputated and reattached backwards.

Do you think Grace spends her time lamenting what she’s already endured? Not at all. She spends time swimming laps and running with her friends. Does Grace have a dream? Yes, she’d like to compete in paralympics someday. Grace says “her ability to remain positive during tough times is due to a single piece of jewelry she wears every day-her Locai bracelet.”

Those bracelets are often worn by celebrities. The bracelets contain “black beads of mud from the Dead Sea.” Here are Grace’s thoughts:

“My life is so full of highs and lows. Whenever I face the lowest of lows, like having my leg amputated and losing my hair, I’m reminded that a high isn’t far away,” Grace tells PEOPLE. “My high was learning how to walk and run again after losing my leg.”

Doctors confirmed  Grace had a choice in 2011. She could have her leg amputated, giving up the active lifestyle she’d always enjoyed, or she could have the rotation surgery.

Grace’s Mom, Vickie talked about the day they discovered the Locai Bracelet. “We were at a local boutique when Grace got her first one,” explains Vicki. “She thought the mountain water was like a super power to stay strong – like Superman’s cape.”

“She said to me, ‘My superpower is to be happy!’”

In my mind, Grace is definitely a superhero and an inspiration to everyone. What do you think?

I think a positive attitude helps you face any type of adversity. If you’d like to find out more about my journey, please check out the first of my children’s books,  Tails of Sweetbrier. It will remind you that anything is possible.

For more on Grace’s story, please click this link:

http://www.people.com/article/teen-amputee-survivor-lokai-bracelet-

copyright 2016: Deanie Humphrys-Dunne

for free samples of my books, please click this link:

https://payhip.com/deaniehd

 Videos:

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

